Blogger Interview with Nicole Evelina

I’m so excited to present today’s Blogger and Author, Nicole Evelina. Nicole is one of the first people I met when I started blogging. She’s been super cool and supportive, so it was an obvious choice when it was time to do my first blogger/author post.  Without further adieu..drum roll please….. I present…

Blogger: Nicole Evelina

Title of Blog: Through the Mists of Time

Address: nicoleevelina.com

A.H. When did you start blogging?

N.E. June 2011. It was an odd series of events that led up to it. A friend of mine had suggested it about a year before and I swore I’d never do it because it took time away from writing. But then I finished my first book and started to think about querying and building an audience. Then, I had the great fortune of meeting author Alyson Noel in Pasadena, California, which was a life-changing experience. It made me take my writing career seriously. I came back from that vacation ready to blog. In fact, the story of meeting her was my second blog post.

A.H. What’s your favorite thing about being a blogger?

N.E. Having a place to express my interests and connect with those of like mind. I’ve met so many wonderful people through my blog.

A.H. Where do you work on your posts?

N.E. Usually in the living room with at least one cat (I have two) on my lap.

A.H. What is the coolest thing about your blog? This could be a section, feature, contributor, widget, etc?

N.E. I’m really proud of two pages that probably don’t get looked at much: the research page and my playlists. The research page is where I list out all the sources (books, people, TV shows, etc.) that have helped me craft my historical fiction. I hope that it will give other people interested in the Celts and/or Arthurian legend a good place to start their own adventure into those worlds. As for the playlists, I’m always listening to something when I write. When music really resonates with me and fits the story, I want to share it.

A.E. What kind of posts do you have coming up on your blog?

N.E. I’ve got a wild mix of things planned from a guest blog by author Janet Reedman (who writes Arthurian legend set in the time of Stonehenge), and a silly post about cake/book genres. I need to watch a bunch of The Great Courses that I purchased, so I’ll blog about those, too. Then there’s whatever pops into my head. I also blog over at Spellbound Scribes. Those posts are a little more off the wall than the ones on my main blog because they have looser criteria than what I’ve established for myself. I don’t plan those ahead; they are whatever is on my mind when it’s my time to write.

A.H. What is your favorite post on your blog? Why?

N.E. I’m really proud of a recent one on a Celtic lullaby called Dinogad’s Smock. It’s this tiny bit of history I uncovered when researching something else and on the surface doesn’t seem that important. But when you look closely at it, it tells us a lot about the daily lives and concerns of the Celts from around the year 500. And to think that the song still exists and is being sung 1,500 years later is amazing to me. I’m just happy to be able to pass it on to others. I hate the idea of things being lost in the pages of history. (That’s also why I write historical fiction.)

A.H. Aside from the cool posts to come, what else do you have planned in the future for your blog?

N.E. Later on, after the first Guinevere book comes out, I’ve got a few Celtic subjects in the queue that relate to specific plot points and I really want to blog occasionally from the POV of my characters. I’m also hankering for a blog redesign, but I want to wait until I have a book cover to coordinate it with.

A.H. You’re a writer, so how do you decide which book to write next?

N.E. You know, that’s a tough question. All things being equal from my agent’s perspective, it’s a matter of which story has the most urgency in my head. My next book (beyond my Guinevere series) is a Tudor historical centered on the dissolution of Glastonbury Abbey that was just conceived in June, but it wants out of my head NOW, so I’m doing it for National Novel Writing month. Then I promised my best friend to get serious about a fantasy novel with strong historical elements that we’ve been talking about co-authoring for about a year. Beyond that is a Celtic historical that has been marinating in my head for a few years and has just found its muse in actress Katia Winter who is on Sleepy Hollow. I could go on, but I won’t. 🙂

A.H. I know you prefer Arthurian legend, but lets pretend were in a zombie apocalypse, what is your weapon of choice?

N.E. Denial. I’m not a zombie fan. In any other type of catastrophe, I’d go for a sword or dagger. You can’t go wrong with a little steel.

A.E. How can people follow you?

N.E. Twitter: (https://twitter.com/NicoleEvelina)

Facebook: (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicole-Evelina/477419575613360?fref=ts/)

Pinterest: (http://pinterest.com/nicoleevelina/)

Goodreads:(http://www.goodreads.com/nicoleevelina)

Pushpages: (http://www.pushpage.me/nicole.evelina)

Flickr: (http://www.flickr.com/photos/nicoleevelina/sets/)

Youtube: (http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyi5-knSn0Abm5ujfpcHgbg/videos?view_as=public)

5 Responses to “Blogger Interview with Nicole Evelina”

  1. Thank you so much for interviewing me, AE! I’ve reblogged it on my own site. I really enjoyed working with you and hope this is the first of many encounters between the two of us. I can’t wait to read your future interviews with others.

  2. Reblogged this on Through the Mists of Time and commented:
    AE Heller was kind enough to interview me on her blog. Here’s the result…

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

