Bloggers Like Me: Experience DMV

#BLMexperienceDMV

Saturday, August 31, 2013

@ The 201 Bar

Finding The 201 Bar was pretty easy. I had never been there but from what I could tell by the map, it was a straight shot from the Union Station metro. Of course, everything went fine at first, I got to the blue line station and only had to wait less than 6 minutes. I got to the red line transfer and only had to wait 4 minutes. For anyone familiar with the Washington Area Metro system on a Sunday, you know this is pretty amazing. Google maps and I have had several fights before so I was ready for it to be indecisive and slow and it was. But I prevailed with only a five minute rant at the lack of signage on Massachusetts Ave in front of Union Station and arrived on time!

When I arrived I was warmly greeted by our hostesses Karen and Whitney.  Three well dressed women were sitting at one table carrying on a lively conversation. I’ll admit in a black top and shorts I felt confident leaving the house, but upon seeing them I felt out of my fashion league. Thankfully, the ladies (Demetrice from Impr4less, Antionette from Dedivahdeals.com, and Jonna from Naturally Glam) were nice and made it easy to relax. There were 17 female bloggers from as far away as Delaware and North Carolina. Blogger topics covered everything from fitness, hair, lifestyle, fashion, relationships, and aromatherapy.  These ladies were dressed to impress and I was impressed.

Blogger Like Me: Experience DMV image courtesy of BLM

Blogger Like Me: Experience DMV image courtesy of BLM

The objective of the Bloggers Like Me: Experience workshop was to give bloggers the opportunity to come together to network and build our brand.  And that is exactly what we did, even though the workshop only lasted a couple of hours it was completely worth it. The main presentation was given by Arsha of BrandBuildSell.com. She is a dynamic and informed speaker, which I would highly recommend for anyone in the blogosphere.

There were four main take-a-ways for me.

1. If you’re not building your brand someone else is. Arsha shared five steps for building your personal brand that used popular product and personality brands to demonstrate the different types.

2. Branding is connected to how people feel about you when they think of you. So the questions becomes how do I want people to feel about me when they think of A.E. Hellar?

3. It’s important to have relevant and distinctive content. Don’t just fill your blog with posts to have stuff there. There is nothing worse than wasting your reader’s time with irrelevant information. Their time is important so respect it.

4. As a blogger it’s important to not just build you network with bloggers but also the business community. Businesses grow not just by connecting with other businesses, but consumers who are willing to pay for their services.

I have no doubt that by connecting with BLM, I now have the resources I need to take my blog and career to the next level.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Bloggers Like Me: Experience DMV”

  1. Great recap, and it was so nice meeting you! Hope to see you again soon.

    ~Whitney

  2. It was such a pleasure meeting you and I loved your shorts – wish for those days I could still wear them (lol). Hope we stay in touch (following each other) and then seeing each other again soon.

  3. Awesome! So glad to hear your time at the BLM Girl Experience was well worth it! Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

