Zombie Town

Zombie Town

R. L. Stinezombie town

Copyright 2001 by Parachute Press

 

I couldn’t help it. Octavia Butler‘s novel “Kindred” is an amazing novel full of depth and character, but it is also not for the faint of heart.  The next book on my list was “Alice in Zombieland”. I started reading it but after I forced myself to read to the hundredth page, I couldn’t do it any longer.  I wanted something not as intense as “Kindred” and with a science fiction element that I had not read before. I considered high-tech, space operas, and even some of New York Times Bestselling series but nothing grabbed my attention. Also, I wanted something fun and light which immediately brought children’s science fiction to mind. At the top of the search results was R.L. Stine.

I don’t remember any exact memories reading R.L. Stine. But I remember how it felt to get a new book, the excitement, the thrill, and the satisfaction.  Mr. Stine taught me the words of fear. Yeah I heard scary stories and watched movies but let’s be honest there is something special about reading fear. The ability to write good children’s horror is a gift and as a kid R.L .Stine was king in my world.

I chose “Zombie Town” because I was in the mood for zombies. I enjoy a good zombie flick but I have yet to read a story with them.  The premise of the story is that zombies in a move come alive and start killing the people in town. Tweens Mike and Karen are best friends. When the movie Zombie Town comes to town Mike doesn’t want to go see it because he’s easily scared but Karen really wants to go because it’s the hottest movie in town. While they are at the movie, strange things start to happen and before they know it they are being chased by zombies through town.

“Zombie Town” has a lot of zombies. In just 75 pages I got my fill of zombies, Stine doesn’t hold back, zombies are the subject and in every scene as either a reference or character. There is enough detail in the characters that the zombies feel fully developed. The zombie characters that Stine describes are similar enough to standard zombies that the little details he adds to make them his own go a long way. While I won’t give away the ending, I will say that I enjoyed the end completely. I felt like the cherry on top and very nice finishing touch.  There wasn’t much to dislike about the story, it hit all the points necessary to leave the reader satisfied.

I’m still looking for additional reviews to add to this posting.

Leave a Reply

