Musing on writing science fiction

Things have been so crazy lately; a lot of personal things going that have caused me to re-arrange my priorities temporarily. Even though I haven’t been posting, as much as I would like, I have been delving deeper into the realm of science fiction in particular technology. The shift came about as I was considering what type of science fiction I wanted to write. While some writers read and write in the same genre that has never been the case with me. What I like to read isn’t what I’m interested in writing. For a time I would watch all genres of science fiction, read police procedurals and historical romances, and write bad literary fiction. As you can guess, my writing didn’t get very far during that time and I’m sure it’s because I wasn’t trying to write what I enjoyed. I know it seems weird and it’s just a theory of a nonprofessional.  Over the last couple of months as I have focused more on science fiction and fantasy movies and literature, I am beginning to see a change in my story interests.  I haven’t written anything yet, but I feel the juices moving.  It is very exciting.

Leave a Reply

