Musing on Octavia Butler

octavia butler

I found out about Octavia Butler while attending a newbie session at the Society for Children Book Writers and Illustrators 2012 winter conference. To say I was enthusiastic would be an und

erstatement. I kne

w there were African American science fiction writers, but to find out that one of the most beloved is a woman was the best thing to happen to me at the conference.

 

 

 I was not always a feminist, but in college I took a Major Black Thinkers course that opened my eyes. In three months, I found a pride in being a black woman that I had never known while becoming equally disheartened with the social and cultural issues that we face. I won’t go in to detail, but the course opened me to being aware of just how little you see successful strong black females in the news, in the media, in literature, and sadly in the history books. From that moment on consciously or not I have been aware of the racial profile of a room, the cast, and the bookshelves. When I decided to focus my blog on science fiction and fantasy I was happy I had given myself a reason and a platform to learn and share my knowledge of all minorities in this genre.

Olive E. Butler was born on June 22, 1947 in Pasadena, California and died on February 24, 2006. During her life, Ms. Butler was awarded the Hugo and Nebula awards, the MacArthur Foundation Genius Grant, and the PEN American Center Lifetime achievement award in writing.  She used science fiction to explore the issue of African American spiritualism. “I wanted to write a novel that would make others feel the history: the pain and fear that black people have had to live through in order to endure.” (Octavia E. Butler – www.biography.com).  She published 13 novels, 2 stand alone and 3 serials: Patternist Series, Lilith’s Brood, and Parable Series. Posthumously Butler

was a Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductee and awarded the Solstice Award by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America in 2012.

 

 

 

kindred

Impressed to say the least with her bio, I immediately went to the library to pick up one of her books. I choose Kindred, not for any particular reason just something about the name called to me.  I’m only a little ways into it and I understand. Her skills with voice, word choice, and setti

ng are pleasures to my inner hear. I’m intrigued with the idea of meeting past ancestors. I’m curious to see how she will deal with and explain paradoxes, time theory, and alternate realities

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll keep you posted.

 

Please visit her site and learn more: http://octaviabutler.org/

 

 

 

 

One Comment to “Musing on Octavia Butler”

  1. Honestly, I’d rank Butler among my favorite authors of all time. I’ve read five of her books so far – all three of the Lilith’s Brood novels, Fledgling, and Bloodchild – and loved them all to bits. I’ve never read Kindred, though; how was it in the end?

Leave a Reply

